WISER Awardees 2023

Indian Awardees

  • Dr. Tauheed Mohammad, IISc Bangalore

    Host: AMO GmbH, Aachen

    Area of Work: Integrated Perovskite on-Chip Laser. He intends to combine perovskite nanocrystals and quasi 2-D perovskites with silicon nitride to integrate first order distributed feedback grating resonators or ring resonators in order to produce on-chip lasers.

  • Dr. Bharathi Priya C, CSIR - SERC, Chennai

    Host: Fraunhofer LBF, Darmstadt

    Area of Work: Adaptive torsional vibration isolators using Magneto-rheological elastomer (MRE). She intends to develop a prototype adaptive torsional vibration isolator (ATVI) using magnetorheological elastomer (MRE), whose dynamic properties can be controlled in real-time using magnetic field.

  • Dr. Raviraj Verma, IIT, Madras

    Host: Fraunhofer IAPT, Hamburg

    Area of Work: Design and development of aerospace structural part manufactured through laser+wire based directed energy deposition technique. He intends to use additive manufacturing (AM) techniques to improve buy-to-fly ratio, lead-time, and structural integrity of aerospace components (like satellite bracket, aeroengine stators, etc.)

  • Dr. Navaneethakrishna Makaram, IIT Madras

    Host: Mentalab GmbH, Munich

    Area of Work: SmarTaTSS: Tattoo Sensors for Smart Sleep Monitoring. He aims to design and develop a tattoo sensor for the continuous monitoring of the respiratory rate for sleep quality assessment.

  • Dr. Govind Narayan Sahu, IIT Kanpur

    Host: Fraunhofer IWU, Chemnitz

    Area of Work: Digital twin for machining with structure integrated active damper. He aims to integrate active damping model of metal cutting vibrations in the digital twin of machining process and improve machining performance.

  • Dr. Keerthana M, CSIR-SERC, Chennai

    Host: Fraunhofer IWES, Oldenburg

    Area of Work: An improved framework for assessment of loads on multi-megawatt wind turbines under yawed flow in Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy Systems. She intends to aims to use high fidelity tools such as Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) with Actuator Line Model (ALM) to calibrate the correction models adopted in conjunction with BEM.

  • Dr. Neeraj Paul, IIT Madras

    Host: Fraunhofer IWES, Oldenburg

    Area of Work: Development of a low-order acoustic propagation model for new-generation wind turbines operating above the atmospheric boundary layer. The model will be able to describe the fluctuating characteristics of noise at different locations in a three dimensional space.

  • Dr. Balram Singh, University of Delhi

    Host: DendroPharm, Berlin

    Area of Work: Through his project “NANOpain” he seeks to treat inflammation with novel dendritic nano-drugs without the addictive, potential for a better quality of life for patients with post-operative pain, cancer and chronic pain.

  • Dr. Sanasam Vipej Devi, NIT Mizoram

    Host: KoRoH GmbH, Karlsruhe

    Area of Work: Capacity of joints made of high strength steel tubular section. A method for the numerical determination of the design resistance of punching shear will be made available which can be used later for numerical parameter studies.

  • Dr. Manjunath Mulimani, Manipal Institute of Technology

    Host: FAIR GmbH, Darmstadt

    Area of Work: Machine Learning. He intends to use novel Machine Learning (ML) and Deep Learning (DL) algorithms to distinguish particles of interest (signal) from other particles (background) produced in large energy particle colliders.

  • Dr. Monika Gupta, IIT Ropar

    Host: University of Würzburg

    Area of Work: Development of solid-state solar thermal fuels derived from liquid crystalline norbornadiene derivatives

  • Dr. Medhavi Vishwakarma, IISc Bangalore

    Host: RWTH Aachen University

    Area of Work: Understanding the role of Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis in cancer initiation

  • Dr. Kriti Tyagi, CSIR-National Physical Laboratory

    Host: German Aerospace Centre (DLR), Institute of Materials Research Cologne

    Area of Work: High Power Factor materials for efficient thermoelectric heat pumping applications

  • Dr. Kala Sasikumaran, Indian Institute of Information Technology Kottayam

    Host: Technische Universitat Dresden

    Area of Work: Sparse matrix multiplication co-processor for deep learning applications on RISC Vplatform

  • Dr. Greeshma Thrivikraman Nair, IIT Madras

    Host: Technische Universitat Dresden

    Area of Work: Circumferential cell migration towards a neuropeptide gradient for healing critical-sized cranial defects

  • Dr. Puja Yadav, Central University of Haryana

    Host: University Hospital Ulm

    Area of Work: Antibacterial and anti-biofilm activity of the human peptide library against Group B Streptococcus

  • Dr. Lata Gawade, Goa University

    Host: Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) Bremerhaven

    Area of Work: Understanding and implementing IMTA: An efficient technology towards sustainable mariculture, carbon sequestration, and blue economy boost

  • Dr. Ramya Devi Durai, SASTRA Deemed University

    Host: Reutlingen University

    Area of Work: Exploration of 3D adipose tissue models to study long-acting Statin nanoparticles to assess the efficacy and suitability as an alternative for animal models

  • Dr. Rik Rani Konerghosh, IIT Mandi

    Host: Universitat Leipzig

    Area of Work: Engineering hybrid MOF composite materials with rationally designed Ligands forPhotocatalytic Hydrogen Evolution

  • Dr. Rita Sharma , NABI Mohali

    Host: Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology

    Area of Work: Investigating the role of long non-coding RNAs in phytohormone-mediated autonomous seed development in Arabidopsis.

  • Dr. Mehrnaz Anvari, Fraunhofer-Institute for Algorithms and Scientific Computing (SCAI)

    Host: IIT Indore

    Area of Work: The role of the higher order and symplectic communications in the power grid stability

  • Dr. Özlem Günay Eşiyok, Humboldt University of Berlin

    Host: BITS Pilani (Hyderabad campus)

    Area of Work: Optogenetic modulation of cAMP and cGMP signalling in Toxoplasma gondii